22: The Flamin’ Groovies – Shake Some Action

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

groovies

The San Francisco proto-punks, were among many great bands which were swept aside – unfairly – by the clear-out of the alleged revolution they helped musically to create. (Although they owed as much to The Byrds as to any of their garage band predecessors). I loved the Groovies. They should have had an honorary mention in my book, and I forgot. So, here they are with – I believe, but correct me if I’m wrong – the original 1971 version of Shake Some Action, produced by Dave Edmunds (we’ll come back to him!) at his Rockfield Studios in Wales. Click on the link. Gerrit up loud!

Leave a Reply

