19: Joni Mitchell – You Turn Me On, I’m A Radio

Posted: March 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

Joni and I became hitched the instant I saw some concert footage of her – it must have been on Whistle Test – when I was about 13, and we’ve been together ever since. Ridiculously talented and imaginative, she’s always been her own girl, impossible to categorise or to pin down, and spinning off on experimental musical tangents with each new album. She was working with overseas musicians years before the gormless label “world music” was conceived. And she’s an unrepentant smoker.

She’s never made a duff record. (I remember doing most of my A Level revision to rotation plays of Ladies Of The Canyon). This track is from her 1972 masterpiece, For The Roses.

Oddly – as with Little Feat and The Band – I never saw her perform live.

Leave a Reply

