18: Bob Dylan – Queen Jane Approximately

Posted: March 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

It actually scares me to consider the course my life might have taken had I not heard Dylan’s 1965 LP, Highway ’61 Revisited, around 1974 when I was 14. (Sensible law degree? A respectable career and a lifetime of house conveyancing in the Rochdale area?) I explain in the book why Dylan, and particularly this album, were truly life-changing. Thanks Bob.

Here’s a track from Highway ’61 which I have always adored but seldom gets any attention, and never gets any radio airplay. And I love the pace at which Dylan and this fabulous studio band take this. Click on the link. Let’s stroll!

(The photo shows Dylan with Highway ’61 producer, Tom Wilson, in the studio, during the recording, in NYC, spring 1965).

Comments
  1. Not heard this for ages…love it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

