09: Loudon Wainwright III – A Father & A Son

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,
Kersh

Since I first heard Loudon, and fell in love with him, when I was about 15, he’s always had – spookily – a song which has mirrored perfectly every stage of my own life, from the “blaspheming, booted, blue-jean baby boy” of School Days, to this – one of Loudon’s beautiful songs about parenthood. That continual soundtrack of appropriate songs is, most likely, an indication of the breadth, honesty and humanity of Loudon’s songwriting.

He’s heard here playing A Father & A Son, live on my BBC Radio 1 programme, in 1998. And the photo up above (a demonstration of Parenting – The AK Approach) was taken at the Cropredy Festival in the same year – with Loudon, Robert Plant and my lad, Sonny, in my arms. (The cheeky monkey’s nicked my fags, bless his little heart!)

‘Scuse me – I must have got something in my eye…

 

Leave a Reply

